Program settings (also known as Preferences) are available in three locations:
The Malwarebytes Application menu, at the left edge of the Mac Menu Bar.
The Malwarebytes menu, in the right portion of the Mac Menu Bar.
From the Settings button on the left side of the Malwarebytes program interface.
Program settings are divided into two sections.
Click Settings in the menu panel to access settings, as shown here.
You will note that General is highlighted in blue, indicating it is the selected settings group.
Available settings are:
Default action for potentially unwanted programs determines the action taken on PUPs. The default option is to Quarantine PUPs, although you may also choose to Skip processing instead. This would exclude PUPs from scans. You may still quarantine PUPs by selecting them after a manual scan.
Automatically check for database updates may be selected or deselected. We strongly recommend that you select this option in order to benefit from the most current database updates. When selected, the Check every setting allows updates to be scheduled for once an hour (the default) up to once per 24-hour day (in 5 discrete steps).
Hide application icon will cause the application icon in the menu bar to not be displayed. This setting is unchecked by default.
Black & White icon will cause the application icon in the menu bar to be displayed in monochrome when selected, or in color when not selected. The default is Black & White (selected).
Automatically receive beta versions of component updates and full releases will cause the application to download beta (pre-release) updates in addition to normal releases. This setting is unchecked by default. Upon enabling this setting, you will receive an additional screen to confirm your choice.
The My Account tab has three variations.
The first variation is for Free users.
This screen allows you to start a Premium Trial, enter a Premium License, or purchase a Premium license.
You will only be able to start a Premium Trial if one is available to you.
The second variation is for Trial users.
It offers the opportunity for the user to purchase a license, to enter a license that they have already purchased, or to deactivate the Trial.
If you deactivate your trial, you will no longer be able to use Real-Time Protection, and you will not be able to resume the Trial at a later time.
If you are using the Premium version of Malwarebytes, a slightly different screen is shown.
This version takes into account that you have already purchased a license and will display your license key, should you require it.
The three buttons at the bottom are replaced with the Change License Key button, and the Deactivate License button. The screen is shown here.